Start of a Revolution

When in the Course of human events it becomes necessary for one people to dissolve the political bands which have connected them with another and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation.

“Dad, I’ll make lunch.

I was not only surprised my 9 year old volunteered to make hers and her sister’s lunch but when did I become ‘Dad’ (I could have sworn it was ‘Daddy’ not more than 10 minutes ago)?

Yet, despite my disbelief, Hannah was rooting through the kitchen for the peanut butter, standing on the stool to grab chips, asking Emma if she wanted an apple, and completely oblivious to me, as she prepared lunch.

He has endeavoured to prevent the population of these States; for that purpose obstructing the Laws for Naturalization of Foreigners; refusing to pass others to encourage their migrations hither, and raising the conditions of new Appropriations of Lands.

I’d be lying if I told you I didn’t see this coming.

More and more, I have seen my kids beginning to grab a hold of their independence.  The two little girls, who used to be able to nestle comfortably on my forearm, had begun to migrate hither and towards doing things for themselves.

That feeling of ‘I can do it myself’ has been a prevailing attitude in my kids since they were old enough to hold a spoon. While I applauded their adorable claims of independence, it always came back to me (or their mom) to fix a shirt buttoned wrong. Pick out clothing that matched, wipe butts, and fix meals.

It always came back to ‘Daddy’.

They were jobs, at times; I performed like Superman heroically rescuing Lois Lane. Except for maybe the butt wiping (any parents’ kryptonite).  They were things my kids depended on me for and I did.

But my kids are on the doorstep of being 10 and 7 (and ready to kick the door in).  What I and their mom were once called on to do for them, they have, with increasing regularity, wanted to do on their own.  They have slowly been laying the groundwork to declare their independence.

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

All the chores, responsibilities, and duties called upon me by my kids hasn’t always been easy…or enjoyed.  There were times when stress has gotten the better of me, exhaustion stripped away my patience, and 7,000 peanut butter and jelly sandwiches reached levels of tedium to bore any man.  Yet, in the end, I relished my kids’ dependence on me.  It was a boost to my ego, at times elevated me to superhuman levels in their eyes, and frankly, it was my job to be there for them.  A job I have cherished.  And a job I don’t know if I have prepared myself to give up yet.

But now my kids understand that they were created equally.  They have been endowed with certain unalienable rights, like Life, Liberty, the pursuit of Happiness, and the right to grow up.  And grow up they are.  Before my eyes, they have transformed from my babies to my little ladies.  Little ladies who once called on their ‘Daddy’ to do the things they are now ready, willing, and able to do.

If history is any teacher, it will do me no good trying to fight it.

So I stand back and watch.  I watch my kids do more and more for themselves. I watch as Hannah stands in the kitchen making lunch and firing off the first shot in a revolution.

12 responses to “Start of a Revolution

  1. Well said, Jimmy. Gave me chills. And the kryptonite part made me laugh. Happy Independence Day to you & your little ladies!

    Like

  2. My children are several years older, and still, sometimes I find myself struggling with letting their quest for independence work itself out. So many times, I just want to tell them “This decision will end badly for you, choose another”…yet I don’t, because I’m old and know nothing.

    Like

  3. history is always the teacher. great job in adding the ‘founding’ quotes. Happy Adams and Jefferson death day!!

    Like

  4. Sweet…enjoy “Dad” while THAT lasts…now my 18 1/2 year old refers to me as “Bruce” to his friends…UGH

    Like

  5. “when did I become dad?” TEARS! That is a defining moment! You have made me weepy once again, I love it! Happy 4th!

    Like

  6. You are a fine wordsmith Jimmy. Your posts are like a window into my future and the future looks good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

