Why Disney Won’t Ruin Star Wars

If you’re like me, then you felt a disturbance in the Force yesterday right around the time it was announced Disney had purchased Lucasfilm for $4.05 billion.  If you’re not like me then most likely you read about it online (what can I say, the Force is strong with me).

Following the news was a cavalcade of responses from geeks combing the outer rim of cyberspace.  Their comments filled with more heat than a summer on Tatooine.  Their fear?  Disney buying Lucasfilm and essentially the Star Wars mythology could only mean one thing…Mickey Mouse in space.

Admittedly, I was one of these people.  Having been subjected to the ‘Disney Channel’ programming because of my kids, one could only shudder in fear at the potential for a Disney-fied Star Wars. But fear leads to anger.  And anger leads to hate.  And hate leads to snarky Tweets and irrational Facebook posts.

I’m not worried about Disney buying Star Wars.  I don’t believe the Mouse will harm this franchise and neither should other fans think that.  Now holster that DL-44 heavy blaster mister and I’ll explain.

You can read the rest of this epic post at Dads Round Table

Leave a Reply

