Wonder Woman. Episode 1

Since having daughters, I have gravitated towards positive and powerful female role models to show my kids.  Be it a pop singer, actress, politician, or local leader, I think it is important my girls know there are women out in the world who are doing the things they tell me they want to do when they grow up.  Being the comic geek that I am and seeing as how ensconced I am in comic book mythology and lore, Wonder Woman is a natural fit for that positive role model for my girls. Wonder Woman is a superheroine created by William Moulton Marston, a psychologist and writer, in 1941.  She has been published continuously by DC Comics since 1941 (excluding a brief time in 1986).  She is one of the “Big 3” of the DC Universe next to Superman and Batman.  She embodies truth, justice, love, and sexual equality, her impact on the genre and in popular culture can not be over stated.  It was with this in mind that I set out to write my own Wonder Woman story, to satiate my inner geek and for my girls. 

Since I have a better chance at performing open heart surgery on the President than I do of having DC Comics look at anything I’ve written, I have decided to share what I’ve written with all of you.  Each week, I will be publishing another piece of the story. 

This is in no way anything other than a fan writing his own story about a character owned and licensed by DC Comics.  I hope you enjoy it as much as I enjoyed writing it.  

This, as with most of what I do, is dedicated to my daughters.  

*     *     *     *

The Kahndaq skyline, in the northern part of the Sinai Peninsula, is clear. The stars clustered in the sky can be seen for miles. The silence of the night brings peace to the often turbulent country. But the silence and peace of the star filled night is not to last. From the distance, a low guttural rumble can be heard. The din gains intensity outside of the capital city of Shiruta in the small village of Anobi. Soon, the sound is accompanied by a squad of military vehicles and soldiers. Their approach can both be heard and felt through the walls of each home in the village.

The air brakes on the trucks squeal to a halt. The idle of the tank can only be heard slightly over the sound of the soldiers who are flooding on to the streets. The soldiers begin breaking down door and smashing windows. They are grabbing men, women, and children from their homes and along the street. Sounds of gunfire mixed with screams of terror now fill the once peaceful night.

Read the rest of Episode 1 at Dads Round Table:  HERE

Just icon logo

One response to “Wonder Woman. Episode 1

  1. That’s so great that you’re doing this for your girls, and yourself. Besides the role model of Wonder Woman, it’s a great example for our kids when we parents do things simply for fun, and to be creative, I think.

    Like

Leave a Reply

